Indianapolis DUI Lawyer
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is against the law in Indiana, even though it is quite common. A driver can be charged with a DUI offense if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is at or above 0.08.
Even for a first offense, you will be charged with a Class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by a $500 fine and 60 days in jail. Most people, however, receive probation in lieu of a jail sentence. While you won’t lose your driver’s license, you will have a DUI conviction on your permanent record.
Mistakes can be made by the police officers or courts, so if you have been accused of a DUI, you need a solid defense. Rigney Law LLC can help. Schedule a consultation with our Indianapolis DUI lawyer today to learn more.
- Blood Test OWI
- Breath Test OWI
- Driver’s License Suspension
- Drug Crime
- DUI License Suspension
- DUI Probation
- First OWI Offense
- License Rehabilitation
- OWI Drugs
- OWI First Offense
- OWI Second Offense
- OWI Third Offense Felony
- Prescription Drug Crime
- Second OWI Offense
- Third Offense & Felony OWI
A DUI investigation typically begins with a traffic stop. If a police officer suspects you of operating while intoxicated, you’ll be subjected to testing. Anyone who drives on state roads must consent to a certified chemical test. Those who refuse to consent to testing face more severe punishment, including an automatic one-year suspension of your driver’s license. The suspension will last for two years If you have a prior DUI conviction.
You’ll likely be subjected to standardized field sobriety tests before you are asked to take a Breathalyzer test. Keep in mind that these tests are not always as accurate, especially if the device is not properly calibrated or the police officer has little training using the device.
Also, alcohol-related symptoms of impairment may mimic symptoms of stress or illness. Bloodshot eyes and trembling hands may be caused by stress and fatigue and not necessarily drinking. In addition, keep in mind that cough syrups and cold medications often contain alcohol and can cause a false positive on a test. This does not count as an illegal use of alcohol.
Subsequent DUI Offenses
While the courts are lenient with first-time DUI offenders, penalties get harsher as you get charged with subsequent offenses. A second DUI offense comes with a mandatory five-day jail sentence or a 180-day community service requirement, although the actual punishment may be more severe. There may also be a counseling requirement for alcohol or drug abusers.
For a third DUI offense, a person can face up to 10 days in jail and at least 360 hours of community service. The jail sentence must be served within a six-month period and two or more days must be served consecutively.
Contact Rigney Law LLC Today
DUI charges stay on your criminal record for life. A conviction can result in serious penalties as well as affect various aspects of your life.
The team at Rigney Law LLC can help you with your DUI case. Our Indianapolis DUI lawyer can provide you with the best defense so you get a favorable outcome. Fill out the online form or call (317) 623-0989 to schedule a consultation.